Adam Paul Arkin

Dr. Arkin is associate professor of bioengineering at the University of California at Berkeley, adjunct professor of biochemistry and biophysics at the University of California in San Francisco, faculty scientist in the Physical Biosciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and director of the Virtual Institute for Microbial Stress and Survival. He is also an assistant investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

David Baron

David Baron is health and science editor for The World, a daily international news program co-produced by the BBC World Service, PRI, and WGBH in Boston.

Michael Blanpied

Dr. Michael Blanpied is a geophysicist at the U.S. Geological Survey and associate coordinator of the Survey's Earthquake Hazards Program.

Glenn Branch

Glenn Branch is deputy director of the National Center for Science Education, a nonprofit organization that defends the teaching of evolution in the public schools.

Alain Brizard

After spending eleven years doing research at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the University of California, Berkeley, Alain Brizard is now an assistant professor of physics at Saint Michael's College in Vermont.

Gary Covino

Gary Covino has been a public radio producer, reporter, editor and program creator for 30 years.

Mervin Field

In 1937, as a student in high school in Princeton, New Jersey, Mervin Field first became infected with the concept and activity of survey research when in a chance occurrence he was introduced to the polling pioneer, Dr. George Gallup.

Howard Fields

Howard Fields was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Science in 1997. He is professor and vice chair of neurology and, since 1998, director of the Wheeler Center for the Neurobiology of Addiction.

Judith V. Grabiner

Judith V. Grabiner earned her B.S. in mathematics from the University of Chicago in 1960, and her Ph.D. in the history of science from Harvard in 1966.

Amelia Kassel

Amelia Kassel is President of MarketingBase, a California-based consultancy specializing in conducting online research using the Internet and fee-based databases.

Arnold Kriegstein

Dr. Arnold Kriegstein is currently director of the Developmental and Stem Cell Biology Program and a professor of neurology at the University of California, San Francisco.

Sally Lehrman

Sally Lehrman is an award-winning reporter and writer on medical and science policy for some of the top names in national print and broadcast media.

Doug Levy

Before joining UCSF in 2004 to work with Dean David Kessler, the former commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Doug Levy spent two decades covering science, health, medicine and technology for a variety of broadcast and print media.

Kevin Padian

Dr. Kevin Padian has been a professor of evolutionary biology and paleontology at Berkeley for 25 years.

Vern Paxson

Dr. Vern Paxson is a senior scientist at the International Computer Science Institute in Berkeley, California.

Rebecca Perl

Rebecca Perl was a health and science correspondent for National Public Radio for seven years. She is currently on the faculty (and also a graduate) of the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, and a correspondent for the Center for Investigative Reporting.

Marilyn Pittman

On March 7, 2006, Marilyn Pittman will celebrate 30 years in radio. She has been a reporter, talk show host, commentator, producer and engineer, as well as disc jockey, TV news anchor, and basic announcer.

Boyce Rensberger

Boyce Rensberger is director of the Knight Science Journalism Fellowships program at MIT.

Miquel Salmeron

Miquel Salmeron is a researcher at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Sylvia Spengler

Sylvia Spengler currently serves as the program director for science and engineering information integration and informatics in the Computer Science Directorate of the National Science Foundation.

Randy Thom

Randy Thom has been working in sound since 1971, first in public radio as a producer and engineer, then as a film sound engineer and designer beginning in 1978.